Facebook Twitter
Advertise HereHodgdonSIAI TopNRAT&FDigitalAd

About Us

The ATA serves as the faithful protector of the sport of trapshooting. As the largest clay target shooting organization in the world, the ATA governs the sport's rules and regulations and seeks ways to further enhance the sport and increase participation.

The ATA was founded in 1900 as the American Trapshooting Association and later changed to the Amateur Trapshooting Association in 1923. A Board of Directors, composed of state and provincial delegates govern all ATA policy matters. The Executive Committee, which is comprised of one representative from each of the five Zones, provides stewardship for the association throughout the year. The organization's day-to-day business is guided by an Executive Director and a team of professionals at the national headquarters in Sparta, IL.

Annually, ATA members participate in 6,000 plus registered tournaments and shoot at more then 60 million targets. With more than 900 gun clubs affiliated with the ATA you can find registered shooting just about anywhere. 

The ATA Homegrounds, located in Sparta, IL, is also home to the Grand American World Trapshooting Championships each August. This annual event draws nearly 4,000 competitors and showcases some of the best shooting talent in the world! 


Executive Committee

  • Mike Herman (Southwestern Zone), President
  • Paul Shaw (Eastern Zone), Vice-President
  • F. Darryl Hayes (Central Zone), Vice-President
  • Ed Wehking (Western Zone), Vice-President
  • Billy Cook (Southern Zone), Vice-President
  • Terry Dean (Southern Zone), Ex-Officio

Central Handicap Committee

Position/Zone Name State Home Business Email Fax
Chairman Dean Townsend OH 614/ 975-7955 NA atadean@yahoo.com NA
Central Robert Felber, Jr. SD 605/ 940-4570 NA bobfelber@midco.net NA
Eastern D. Ray Greb MD 410/ 668-0608 410/ 538-4456 rgtrapmd@aol.com 410/ 668-2230
Southern Dan Ryan KY 859/ 802-5759 NA dryan100@twc.com NA
Southwestern David Rhoads KS 785/ 776-0506 NA mdr5@cox.net NA
Western Danny McKenzie ID 208/ 835-5073 NA mckdanata@hotmail.com NA
Steve Ricketts  MO 816/873-3184 NA srickett@sbcglobal.net
Jerry O'Connor TX 806/679-6889 NA jloconnor47@gmail.com NA

Rules Advisory Committee

Name State Home Email
Ed Wehking, Chair UT 801/231-8046 ewehking@shootata.com
Lynn Gipson IL 618/ 449-2224 lgipson@shootata.com
Dean Townsend  OH 614/975-7955 atadean@yahoo.com
Ray Greb MD 410/ 668-0608 rgtrapmd@aol.com

All-American Requirements

Download the All-American Requirements as PDF.

Amateur Trapshooting Association
1105 East Broadway
P.O. Box 519
Sparta, IL 62286

Phone: 618-449-2224
Fax: 866-454-5198

Youth Trapshooting Program
Phone: 618-449-2224
Fax: 866-454-5198

Trapshooting Hall of Fame
PO Box 519
Sparta, IL 62286

Phone: 937-660-5663
Fax: 937-660-5664

World Shooting &
Recreational Complex
1 Main Event Lane, Suite 510
Sparta, IL 62286

Phone: 618-295-2700